2012 British Poker Awards – Trickett Holds All The Aces!


World Series Of Poker The Big One For One Drop runner up Sam Trickett literally cleaned up at the 2012 British poker Awards. He won three awards in total including that of Player Of The Year, The Best Tournament Player and also the Best Cash Player.

This ceremony was being held on the prestigious H.M.S President in London, where the sole aim was to allow the British Poker Awards to award and recognise all of the best and brightest talent in the British poker scene.

Other winners included a whole host of some of the biggest names in poker including Chris Moorman, Vanessa Selbst and Liv Boeree. There was no doubting who the big winner of the night was though as Sam Trickett won the three biggest awards available.

He won the sought after 2012 Player Of the Year title, whilst he was also recognised for being the Best Tournament Player and Best Cash Player. With regards to being the best cash player, he has actually now won that particular award for the second year running. As a matter of fact, Trickett has now held each of the three British Player Award’s iterations having won the Best Newcomer Award just two years ago.

The WSOP Clinched It!

It goes without question that his performance in the 1$ Million Buy-In The Big One For One Drop high Roller Event at the World Series of Poker was a massive contributing factor with him finishing as runner up. He actually banked a massive $10.1 million for that result putting him right at the top of the best all time British earners from poker.

The Others That Were Awarded!

Chris Moorman yet again won the Best Online Player Award; this was the third time in a row for him. Pretty soon they may have to name that award after him if he carries on in this vein, either that or Trickett should try and go for the clean sweep by upping his online qualities.

The popular Vanessa Selbst won the award for the Best International Player whilst her good friend and roommate at the WSOP Liv Boeree won the Best Poker Personality of the year. One of the non-poker players to win an award was UKIPT President Kirsty Thompson who was recognised for the work she does to help poker grow in the United Kingdom by running the UKIPT tour; she won the Biggest Contribution To Poker Award.

Here Is A Full Rundown Of The Awards:

Player Of The Year – Sam Trickett

Best International Player – Vanessa Selbst

Best Cash Player – Sam Trickett

Best Tournament Player – Sam Trickett

Best Online Player – Chris Moorman

Best Personality – Liv Boeree

Best Card Room – Dusk Til Dawn

Best Tournament Director – Toby Stone

Best Poker Forum – The Hendon mob

Best UK Tournament – UKIPT Nottingham

Best Card Room Restaurant – The Vic

Best Card Room Bar – Palmbeach

Best Poker Blogger – Neil Channing

Best poker League – Champions Poker League

Biggest Contribution To Growing And Promoting Poker – Kirsty Thompson