Allan Still On Top After Day 2

Day 2 of the 2012 Australia New Zealand Poker Tour Snowfest has just finished and what started as 81 players still in the competition has been reduced to just 31 for Day 3.

Dave Allan was the chip leader after all three Day 1 sessions and will be extremely pleased to still be leading the leader board after Day 2 as well.

The day began at 12.30pm in a rather confusing schedule of play; just 43 players took part in Day 2a, which lasted for three and a half hours before they took a 3 hour break. Whilst they were taking that break, Day 2b started their session of three and a half hours until 7.30pm.

At 7.30, the 23 survivors from Day 2a came and joined Day 2b where the day was then played out.

Players To Hit The Rail

Some of the players that hit the rail on Day 2a were Danny Chevalier and WSOP bracelet winner Andrew Hinrichsen, by the time Day 2a had finished it was Michael Kanaan who temporarily held the largest stack.

As for Day 2b, nobody quite managed to beat Kanaans chip lead, whilst there were some more notable evictee’s. PokerStars Team Pro player Roy Bhasin was one of those, along with James Honeybone and Lee Boxall.

Once Day 2 combined both sets of players at around 7.30pm the real action got under way. There were a total of 47 players left at the start of play, who all had to go through another 3 levels of play. During this stage of play ANZ player of the year Anthony Aston busted out along with the chip leader from Day 1c Nurlan Boobekov.

As It Stands

By the end of the day 31 players were left standing…or should I say seated. Allan had gone back to the top of the leader board with 280,000; he looks to be the guy to beat in the sessions ahead. 15 players will eventually be paid out to, so in essence half of this field will go home happy and the rest…well not.

Not too far behind Allan are Michael Kanaan, David Zhao and Ricky Kroeson, whilst other notable players to survive through to the next session include Team PokerStars Pro Bryan Huang along with Richard Lancaster and Yvo Molin.

Tomorrow we will be playing right down to the final nine, with each player looking to take down the ANZPT title and the winning prize of $110,00. However, this time tomorrow we will know exactly who has made it to that final table, and you can count on us to bring you that very information and everything you need to know regarding this tournament.