Aussie Millions $25k Challenge Day 1: Fabian Quoss Leads

Aussie Millions table

The 2014 Aussie Millions $25,000 Challenge broke previous records, as there were 65 entries in Day 1 with Fabian Quoss leading the 30 players left at the end of the day.

Ognjen Sekularac led the pack for most of the day, but he lost a couple of big hands in the last hour, while Fabian Quoss staged an impressive comeback. It is only fair to say that he was dealt great hands during Level 8 but he made the most of them, with the biggest pot being won at the expense of Yevgeniy Timonshenko. The two players went all-in and Quoss’ Kings won against Yevgeniy’s A-K, to propel Fabian to the top.

Igor Kurganov who won the event one year ago was eliminated early and bought in again, only to suffer the same fate. By comparison, Daniel Negreanu had a slightly better day and will return tomorrow with 75k chips, slightly below the average stack. Justin Bonomo, Sorel Mizzi and Ole Schemion are just a few of those poker pros who will be joining him tomorrow when the winner will be decided.


Jason Mercier is the best placed Team PokerStars Pro with 127k chips, just 6,000 shy of entering Top 10, but he is quite happy with his performance. Things could have been much worse for him, as he had to rebuy three hours before Day 1 came to an end. There are 36 players left in the race, including reigning World Series of Poker champion Ryan Reiss, who will return tomorrow with a decent stack.

Action will resume tomorrow at 2:30 pm local time and these are the ten players who will be bringing the biggest stacks:

Top-10 Chip Count

1) Fabian Quoss – 348,800

2) Ognjen Sekularac – 259,200

3) Martin Jacobson – 193,000

4) David Yan – 181,100

5) Max Altergott – 179,700

6) Dan Shak – 179,600

7) Justin Bonomo – 170,700

8) Tony Bloom – 144,800

9) John Juanda – 138,400

10) Ole Schemion – 133,600

The winner will collect AU$460,000 the biggest proportion of the AU$1.56 million prize pool and only the 8 players who will make the final table will be paid, according to the payout structure below:

Prize Pool:

1) AU$460k

2) AU$340k

3) AU$240k

4) AU$170k

5) AU$125k

6) AU$100k

7) AU$70k

8) AU$55k