European Poker Awards – Nominations!

Back in 2012 a certain Sam Trickett was the name that dominated the British Poker Awards, with him now in the mix to do the same at the European Poker Awards. Trickett and a whole host of other top players will be hoping to win an award or two, with the nominations now being made available to us.

The organizers have released who the nominations will be for a host of awards with Trickett being put forward for the Best Tournament Performance award.

One of the awards has already been won by a player, with Marvin Rettenmaier being announced as the winner of the Player Of The Year. Rettenmaier was the highest placed European player on the Global Poker Index and was actually ranked number two in the world behind Dan Smith, so it was an obvious decision.

Notables In The Mix!

Sam Trickett and Marvin Rettenmaier are two of the biggest names in poker these days, but there are many others that have been nominated. Names such as Chris Moorman, Ilari Sahamies, Viktor Blom, Liv Boeree, Bertrand Grospellier and Gus Hansen will all be hoping to pin down an award.

The ceremony is set to start on the 22nd of January with the presenter to be Kara Scott and the location will be at the Elysee Biarritz in Paris. The ceremony will take place during the European Finals Of Poker tournament, with the winners of each award being chosen by a panel that is being chaired by Nic Szeremeta. There are another seven judges which are a selection of ex-players and many important faces in the world of poker, they are Stephan Gollubits, Jesse May, Barry Carter, Michael Michelin, Jerome Scmidt, Alexandre Dreyfus and the enigmatic Joe Beevers.

The Nominations:

Rookie Of The Year:

• Gaelle Baumann

• Ole Schemion

• Lucille Cailly

• Aubin Cazals

Best Tournament Performance:

• Davidi Kitai

• Sam Trickett

• Marvin Rettenmaier

• Rocco Palumbo

• Ole Schemion

Europe’s Leading Lady:

• Gaelle Baumann

• Elisabeth Hille

• Liv Boeree

• Lucille Cailly

Internet Player Of The Year:

• Viktor Blom

• Ilari Sahamies

• Jens Kyllonen

• Chris Moorman

Staff Person Of The Year:

• Simon Trumper

• Dave Brannan

• Nicolas Fraioli

• Neil Johnson

Personality Of The Year:

• Kara Scott

• Neil Channing

• Gus Hansen

• Bertrand Grospellier

• Marvin Rettenmaier

• Tony Guoga

European Event Of The Year:

• WSOPE Cannes

• European Poker Tour Barcelona

• Prague Poker Festival

• Irish Poker Open

Quite some names there we are sure you will agree, of which we will inform you of which ones turn their nominations into awards once the ceremony takes place.