GPI European Poker Awards – Rettenmaier Wins POY

Last night saw the Global Poker Index 2012 European Poker Awards revealed, with the Elysee Biarritz in Paris playing host to the extravagant ceremony.

The hosts during the ceremony were presenter and poker player Kara Scott alongside Alexandre Dreyfuss who owns the Global Poker Index. They had to get through 18 awards in total, with nine being the main European based awards which included Player of the Year, Europe’s Leading lady and Lifetime Achievement Award.

There were also nine awards handed out to the Global poker Index Players of the Year for nine different countries. These countries were the UK, Spain, France, Austria, Germany, Italy, Belgium, Finland and Ireland.

For the main awards, the decision was made after a panel of judges were given nominations made by the public in which they had to select the winners, whilst it was purely down to the Global Poker Index rankings to decide the national winners.

The lifetime achievement award was decided purely by votes from web goers, with the voting ending on the 12th December (which was before the player released some controversial tweets).

Here are the winners of each award:

European Player of the Year — Marvin Rettenmaier

Internet Player of the Year — Jens Kyllönen

Poker Personality of the Year — Kara Scott

Rookie of the Year — Ole Schemion

Best Tournament Performance — Davidi Kitai Triple Crown at the EPT Berlin)

Europe’s Leading Lady — Lucille Cailly

Best Tournament of the Year — EPT Barcelona

Poker Staff Person of the Year — Simon Trumper

Lifetime Achievement Award — Gus Hansen

With regards to the internet player of the year award, there were a number of other high profile nominations. There was Viktor Blom, Ilari Sahamies and British pro Chris Moorman who just missed out on the award.

Marvin Rettenmaier was always odds on to win the European Player of the Year, especially due to his back to back EPT titles this year.

Lucille Cailly deservedly beat out a whole host of women nominations such as Liv Boeree, Annette Obrestad, Sandra Naujoks and Gaelle Baumann due to her excellent performances this year.

The National Awards were as follows:

United Kingdom – (Roberto Romanello)

France – (Bertrand Grospellier)

Spain – (César García)

Ireland – (Dermot Blain)

Germany – (Marvin Rettenmaier)

Austria – (Ivo Donev)

Belgium – (Davidi Kitai)

Italy – (Andrea Dato)

Finland –(Juha Helppi)

We would like to offer our congratulations to each every one of the winners last night, each of them fully deserved the recognition they received after another glorious year in poker back in 2012.