poker logo Live Chat Player Zone Download Poker   Poker Info
DATE: May 26 2012
TIME :
home download promotions tournaments how to play poker help poker forum

   Poker.co.uk - Poker news archive
Download
Affiliates
Support
Site Map
The Gambling Network
Poker
Gambling Forum
Poker Forum
Bingo
Poker Domain Names

Poker.co.uk - Poker News Archive

Thursday 27th September 2007

Gaming Group to Appeal Patent Rulings

Leading online casino, sportsbook and poker room Bodog.com has announced that it is to challenge rulings made against it in two American court cases last month that forced it to change its domain name to BodogLife.com.

Bodog is to confront 1st Technologies next month arguing the validity of a default judgment handed down to the gaming company by a Nevada judiciary and a judge in the Superior Court of King's County in Seattle, Washington.

1st Technology claimed a $48 million uncontested judgment after it claimed that Bodog infringed its American patent entitled, 'Method and System for Interactively Transmitting Multimedia Information over a Network Which Requires a Reduced Bandwidth while operating in the US'.

Bodog’s Canadian founder Calvin Ayre said that, as a Costa Rican company, his company, Bodog Entertainment SA, is an international entity that has neither a presence nor assets in the United States. He added that domains are not assets and that the domains his company held were on behalf of other unspecified companies. Domain names are a part of the world community based on the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers’ (ICANN) charter and mission statement, which brings into question whether or not they could or should be seized.

However, Bodog's main defence will rest on the contention that it was not properly served on the Nevada patent action thereby destroying the allegation that it was in default at the hearing.

'Nobody involved with the company that was sued or anyone with BodogLife has any knowledge of anyone getting served and this is the basis of the appeal of the judgment,” said Ayre.

“You cannot have a valid default judgment without having valid service as far as we know.'

 

Source: OnlineCasinoNews


View Similar Stories
Winward Gaming Group appoints new VP Marketing
Cantor Gaming to Purchase Kismet Group
Fairground Gaming Acquires Spin Palace Online Casino Group
Winward Gaming Group Launches SlotsVillage.com
Gaming-Group.com forms new division


Discuss this story in the Poker Forum. Last 5 Posts:
Saturday 26th May, 2012:   New Bap - Day 3
Saturday 26th May, 2012:   Party Poker and William Hill (iPoker) BAP
Saturday 26th May, 2012:   Brag Thread! Post your greatest wins (online or live) here.
Saturday 26th May, 2012:   WSOP Fantasy Draft 2012
Friday 25th May, 2012:   One way poker Swapsies

 
Poker.co.uk is part of The Gambling Network | Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy | Contact Us | Gamble Aware
Poker.co.uk is operated by InTouch Poker Ltd (hereinafter called the "Company"), a limited liability company with registration number C44236, registered in Malta (a member of the EU since May 2004). The Company’s registered address is at Vincenti Buildings, Suite 623, 14/19 Strait Street, Valletta VLT 1432, Malta. The Company operates the Poker.co.uk online poker room under a provisional license issued and regulated by the Lotteries and Gaming Authority ("LGA") of Malta (issued on 2 December 2008, number LGA/CL3/412/2007). The software used for operating the Poker.co.uk online poker room is licensed from Boss Media Malta Poker Limited. Our services are not available to residents of the United States, US Virgin Islands, US Minor Outlying Areas or Turkey or any other jurisdiction that legally prohibits its citizens from engaging in online gaming.