PokerStars EPT San Remo Main Event Day 5

The PokerStars EPT San Remo Main Event is now drawing closer to completion after Day 5 saw the final 24 players reduced to the final table of 8. The chip lead is a closely fought contest between Jason Lavallee and Ludovic Lacay who are holding 5,545,000 and 5,366,000 respectively.

With a winner’s slice of the prize pool being €800k, you can be sure that the final table is going to be extremely closely contested occasion. Both of the top two had a dominating Day 5 and were at the tops of their game as they pulled out a 2 million lead over the next best chip stack of 3,695,000 which was held by Jason Tompkins.

We all know that anything can happen on this final table though, so they will still be wary of the players that are still in contention. Though, you cannot help thinking that the winner is going to come from one of these two.

Tompkins Still in With A Shout And Bojang Climbs The Field!

The player that started Day 5 as chip leader was the Irishman Jason Tompkins and while he is no longer at the top of the pile he is still in with a good chance in third place. He did well to keep hold of most of his chips throughout the day and gradually increase them as it wore on.

He started with 2.4 million and added a further 1.2 million to bring his total up to 3.6 million. He will be gunning for his first ever major title when the final table commences, with this possibly his best chance to finally take one down.

Ismael Bojang is another player who had a good Day 5, as he has moved up into 4th place with a stack of 2,845,000. The German frequently cashes in tournaments and has some big scores to his name, yet that major title has still eluded him thus far.

To complete the final table, there is Adrian Piasecki, Artem Litvinov, Angelo Recchia and Micah Raskin all hoping to improve their positions and perhaps challenge for that title. Raskin and Litvinov have plenty of experience between them at this level, yet as the short stacks on the final table things are going to be tough for them.

The Final Table!

1, Jason Lavallee 5,545,000

2. Ludovic Lacay 5,366,000

3. Jason Tompkins 3,605,000

4. Ismael Bojang 2,845,000

5. Adrian Piasecki 2,045,000

6. Angelo Recchia 1,755,000

7. Micah Raskin 1,550,000

8. Artem Litvinov 800,000

Action starts up again at 3pm CET today, where a winner will be decided. Be sure to come back here to get a full report of the last day’s action.