Race For The Global Poker Index Player Of The Year

For the past week or so it has been an interesting race to see whether it would be Dan Smith or Marvin Rettenmaier who would end up as the GPI player of the year. The GPI ranks the best 300 tournament players in the world using their system of rewarding points based on performances in poker tournaments throughout the last three years.

Smith is still out in front after being at the top of the rankings for the last four and a bit months, though Rettenmaier has made a dramatic late surge for the title which culminated in him winning the High Roller Event at the PokerStars EPT Prague last week.

This brought him to just 20 points below that of Dan Smith’s points tally, although Dan Smith then went on to win a side event at the very same EPT stop.

Is There Time For Rettenmaier?

There is, but it now looks highly unlikely that he could still the honour from Dan Smith. Though there are still a couple of events that would qualify for GPI points before the end of the year, he would need to do very well in all of them to pip Dan Smith to the Player Of The Year Award.

In all honesty, either player would be a worthwhile winner, with Rettenmaier going down in history by being the first poker player to ever win back to back World Poker Titles earlier in the year, whilst he has just won that EPT High Roller event and had a string of very consistent performances in a whole host of other events.

Dan Smith on the other hand has also had a fantastic year at the felt, having won a total of six events, starting with the $100k Challenge at the Aussie Millions. The other events were all side events at European Poker Tour stops, which have accounted for payouts totaling $1,960,625. In total for the year though he has won close to $4 million from tournaments the world over.

The Current GPI Top Ten!

Dan Smith – 3118.56

Marvin Rettenmaier – 2952.72

Bertrand Grospellier – 2730.56

Jason Mercier – 2699.88

Phil hellmuth – 2647.46

Andrew Lichtenberger – 2559.76

Vanessa Selbst – 2450.40

David Sands – 2410.74

Michael Watson – 2410.21

Stephen O’Dwyer – 2390.22

We feel that both players will be winning their fair share of player of the year awards this year, simply because they are the two players that have stood out in 2012 with regards to tournament play. They will both however, be more concerned with having equally good years in 2013…if that is even possible.