Rettenmaier Makes Two WPT Final Tables In A Row

As the World Poker Tour Merit Cyprus Classic Main Event was finally narrowed down from 18 players who started the day to the final six on the last table, there was one player who can safely feel comfortable whenever he plays a WPT event.

More on that particular player later.

The six final players will come back to fight it out for the coveted title of “Champion Of Cyprus”, and as we know with any final table…it is anyone’s game. As it stands the current chip leader is Ran Azor, however he is surprisingly being overlooked in the attention stakes due to Marvin Rattenmaier making back to back final tables in a WPT event.

What is more interesting is the fact that he won his last one, so if he manages to win this event he will become the first ever poker player to win two WPT events in a row, a feat that has never been accomplished in the 10 years the WPT has been running.

In May, Retenmaier beat a field of 152 players in the $25,500 WPT World Championship which was held at the prestigious Bellagio in Las Vegas. His prize was an eye watering $1,1896,858. The German pro now stands a chance of setting a new record by becoming the first player to make the achievement of winning two in a row.

He is currently in 3rd place on the leader board, and things are really close at the top, with just 400k separating the top 3 players. It will certainly make for an interesting final table; especially as there are still five other players who will be wanting to end Rattenmaiers chances of scooping that record.

Ran Azor will be looking to use his slender lead to give him a slight advantage over his opponents, though we all know that it can take days to build a stack like his, but seconds to destroy it. In fact each of these players will still think they have a chance, even El Koury who is the short stack, a quick double up and he is back in contention.

The World Poker Tour Merit Cyprus Classic Final Table Seat Draw

Seat 1: Joseph El Khoury – 435,000

Seat 2: Victor Paraschiv – 1,115,000

Seat 3: Kiryl Radzivonau – 1,865,000

Seat 4: Marvin Rettenmaier – 2,020,000

Seat 5: Artur Voskanyan – 2,030,000

Seat 6: Ran Azor – 2,405,000

We will certainly be keeping our eyes on this one, to let you know just whether anyone was able to put a spanner in the works of that back to back WPT win.