Two IPT Champions Crowned in Sanremo (vid)

Italian Flag

The EPT10 Sanremo Poker Festival is underway. Sanremo has been a favourite stop on the EPT circuit since Jason Mercier won his Main Event title there in 2008, which is no wonder considering the beauty outside and the poker action inside.

The Italian Poker Tour Main Event and High Roller Event served as the lead-in to the EPT Main Event, with both crowning new champions yesterday.

The IPT €700 Main Event drew 1,124 players. The prize pool totalled €763,196 with the champion taking home €137,100. The field was packed with tough players including Max Pescatori, Alex Kravchenko, Vitaly Lunkin and Kitty Kuo who tweets constantly while she is playing.

Kuo failed to make the final table and instead entered Day1A of the EPT Sanremo Main Event. The IPT Main Event final table was stacked with tough opponents including the IPT Saint Vincent Main Event runner-up, a WPT Venice runner-up, a Swedish champion, an APPT champ and one player who had already won an EPT Sanremo Side Event. At the end it was PokerStars Supernova Elite player Alessandro di Fenza with all the chips. The Italian pro keeps the trophy on home ground and as a result of a three way final table deal claimed €105,600 in first place prize money.

Here is the Final Table Finish and Prize Money:

1st Alessandro di Fenza €105,600*

2nd Marcello Miniucchi €95,600*

3rd Jae Kyung Sim €75,000*

4th Alex Longobardi €43,200

5th Alex Norden €32,900

6th Adel Kabbani €24,200

7th Alessandro Borsa €18,300

8th Fabio Scepi €13,000

* Result of three-way deal

While the IPT Main Event and Day 1a of the EPT Sanremo Main Event were playing in other areas of the tournament room, the IPT High Roller Event was playing down to a winner in another area. The €2,000 buy in event drew 181 players with the top 27 making the money.

Even though he faced a very tough group of international players, Italian Gaetone Preite prevailed to keep the title on home ground and take home the €77,800 champion’s prize.

Here is the final table and payouts:

1st Gaetone Preite €77,800

2nd Alex Dovzhenko €52,500

3rd Olivier Busquet €36,140

4th Aleksandr Gofman €29,450

5th Matthieu Lamagnere €23,500

6th Juri Mereu €18,100

7th Artur Koren €13,200

8th Olvedo Heinze €9,500

9th Tom Hall €7,900