WPT LA Poker Classic – Moorman Scoops Title

Poker chips

Chris Moorman is the newly crowned World Poker Tour LA Poker Classic champion after coming through a tough televised final table of six with all of the available chips in the event. The British professional who is more noted for his success in online tournaments has now made a successful switch over to grab a major live title.

He has over $11 million in online earnings, enough to put him right at the top of the British rankings but until today had never won a major live title despite also having $3 millions in cashes.


He took home $1,015,460 for his efforts after a tense heads up session against the eventual runner up Glenn Lafaye. Additionally he wins a seat worth $15k in the WPT World Championship at the end of the season.

Going into heads up both he and Lafaye were fairly evenly stacked after the elimination of Michael Rocco in 3rd place but it did not take long for Moorman to show his true heads up experience. He quickly went about putting the pressure on his opponent and chipping away at his stack.

The final hand saw Chris Moorman pick up pocket aces and he would have been delighted when the short stacked Lafaye re-raised his initial 525k on the flop of Jc-7c-6d bet by going all-in. Moorman made an instant call and saw that his opponent had the open ended straight draw with the 5s-4d. It was certainly a sweat but the Qh and 5d fell on the turn and river respectively to see Moorman finally crowned a major title champion.

The event started 6 days ago and originally had a field of 534 players, the majority of them being highly notable players. Chris Moorman was involved near the top of the chip counts almost the whole way through the event and managed to turn that consistency into the result he would have been dreaming of.

There is not too long to wait for the next WPT event either, with the WPT Bay 101 Shooting Star gearing up to start on the 10th of March. We will also have reports for that event so make sure you bookmark us and come back.

1st) Chris Moorman – $1,015,460

2nd) Glenn Lafaye – $662,840

3rd) Michael Rocco – $423,440

4th) Patrick Bruel – $332,190

5th) Josh Neufeld – $264,520

6th) Adam Friedman – $200,440